• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation


Opening of the EPA Sustainability Award 2015

28 May 2015

Nominations are now open for the 2015 EPA Sustainability Award – designed to recognise businesses and organisations demonstrating a commitment to sustainability, particularly in regard to waste minimisation and resource recovery.

The EPA Sustainability Award is one of several categories of the Tasmanian Community Achievement Awards run by Awards Australia. These Tasmanian Awards are about recognising individuals, organisations and groups that are making a difference in their local communities and across the State.

The opening of nominations for this year’s Awards was officially launched in Hobart on Tuesday 26 May by Awards patron and Premier of Tasmania, the Hon Will Hodgman MP. EPA Deputy Chair, Tony Ferrier, gave a speech on behalf of the EPA Board at the Hobart event while Catherine Murdoch, EPA Board member spoke at the launch in Launceston. Each talked about the role of the EPA Board and the reasons for sponsoring the Sustainability Award category.

“The EPA Board has been in existence in Tasmania since 2008 as the State’s principal environmental regulator but it also plays a key role in promoting best practice environmental management,” said Mr Ferrier.

“The EPA’s vision is a Tasmania that is clean, healthy and sustainable – meeting the needs of the present generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their needs,” he said.

“By sponsoring the Sustainability Award, the Board aims to promote this vision and encourage businesses and organisations to become environmental innovators in whatever sector they belong.

“Our particular focus for this award category is in waste management and resource efficiency, which we believe are key elements of sustainability, limiting consumption of energy, water and materials and minimising the output of wastes – reducing, reusing and recycling.

“Resource efficiency is about doing more with less, creating more value with less impact, providing an opportunity for business managers to continually focus on economic savings as well as environmental benefits that flow from a resource efficient approach.

“We would like to recognise those businesses and organisations who have demonstrated innovation, leadership and best practice in waste minimisation and resource efficiency, and who have proven the economic, environmental and social benefits as a result,” said Mr Ferrier.

Submissions for the EPA Sustainability Award should be for a project or initiative that has resulted in measurable improvements in waste minimisation and resource efficiency with demonstrable benefits not only for the business or organisation involved, but also for the wider community and/or industry sector.

Nominations opened on Wednesday 27th May and will close on Friday 21st August 2015. All nominees will receive a letter of congratulations and a certificate of encouragement, while the winners of each category will receive a trophy and a prize of $1,000 or television exposure on Southern Cross Television.

The winners of the Tasmanian Community Achievement Awards will be announced at a gala presentation dinner in Hobart, planned for Friday 27th November 2015.

For more information about the Tasmanian Community Achievement Awards and to find out more about nominating for the EPA Sustainability Award, go to www.awardsaustralia.com and click on Tasmania.

Mr Tony Ferrier, Deputy Chair, EPA Board speaking at the opening of nominations for the 2015 Community Achievement Awards in Hobart