• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation

EPA Sustainability Award

​The EPA's vision is a Tasmania that is clean, healthy and sustainable. Its purpose is to protect and enhance the quality of the Tasmanian environment in balance with economic and social values, and the needs of future generations.

The EPA Sustainability Award aims to acknowledge businesses from any industry sector who have developed and implemented cleaner production initiatives that have delivered measurable improvements in preventing pollution, conserving energy and water, minimising waste and maximising resource efficiency.

Submissions should be for a project or initiative that results in measurable improvements in any or all of the following areas: energy efficiency, water conservation, resource efficiency, waste minimisation; and results in wider community or flow-on benefits to the sector.​

2​​020 Winners

Neville Smith Forest Products Pty Ltd of Mowbray​ announced as this year's winner.

Past Winners

2019 - Lion Dairy& Drinks of Lenah Valley for its commitment to cleaner production, waste minimisation and environmental sustainability

2018 - Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Partners of Port Sorell for protecting and improving water quality associated with dairy farming

2017 - Hobart City Council for its Waste Management Strategy 2015-30, a blueprint to achieve zero waste to landfill

2016 - Botanical Resources Australia (BRA) and Greenhams Tasmania for their conversion of pyrethrum waste into clean biofuel briquettes as a substitute for coal

2015 - Veolia for its design of a $7 million waste management depot at Sorell

2014 - Hazell Bros Group for their environmental management and rehabilitation at the Leslie Vale Quarry

2013 - Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary for its education and conservation programs promoting caring for wildlife

Awards Australia

For more information about the Tasmanian Community Achievement Awards, and how to submit an application for the EPA Sustainability Award, go to the Awards Australia website.​

​Communications Coordinator
134 Macquarie Street, Hobart
GPO Box 1550, Hobart TAS 7001
Phone: 03 6165 4420, Mobile: 0408 478 897
Email: Sarah.Graham@epa.tas.gov.au

The Environment Protection Authority acknowledges the Tasmanian Aboriginal people as the traditional custodians of lutruwita (Tasmania) and pays respect to their Elders, past and present.