• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation

New Appointments to EPA Board in Tasmania

Two new members have been appointed to the Board of Tasmania’s Environment Protection Authority.

New Board members Louise Cherrie and Dr Helen Locher join current EPA Chair John Ramsay who will continue in his role, along with EPA Director Alex Schaap and Board member Ian Abernethy, who will take up the position of Deputy Chair.

Louise Cherrie brings practical knowledge and experience in environmental management in industry to her position on the Board.

Dr Helen Locher has wide expertise in environmental conservation, natural resources management, water pollution and management and prevention of waste.

The work of the inaugural EPA Board, which has been in operation since 1 July 2008, has been acknowledged, particularly outgoing Deputy Chair Dr Christine Mucha and outgoing Board member Wayne Petrass for their valuable contribution over the past three years towards ensuring Tasmania has rigorous environmental management.

The EPA is governed by a Board with an independent chair. Both the Board and the EPA’s Director exercise power at arm’s length from the Government.

The EPA is an integral part of the State’s Resource Management and Planning System and the EPA has a number of statutory responsibilities, including the environmental assessment and regulation of larger developments and industrial activities in Tasmania.

The EPA Board’s work is supported by staff in the EPA Division of the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment.