• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation

New EPA Board Members Announced

Membership of the Board of the Environment Protection Authority (EPA) for its next three year’ term was announced today by Minister for Environment and Parks, Elise Archer MP.

The new Board comprises Mr Warren Jones as Chair, Mr Tony Ferrier as Member and Deputy Chair, Professor Colin Buxton and Ms Belinda Hazell as Members, and Ms Amanda Locatelli as Deputy Member.

Mr Warren Jones was re-appointed for a second term as Chair. Mr Jones has served on the Board from 2008 to 2011 in his capacity as the former Director.

Member and Deputy Chair, Mr Tony Ferrier and Member, Professor Colin Buxton were also re-appointed for second consecutive term. Mr Ferrier brings knowledge and experience in Local government environmental management, and Professor Buxton provides expertise in a number of environmental disciplines.

New Member, Ms Belinda Hazell has been appointed as the member with environmental knowledge in industry and Ms Amanda Locatelli has been appointed as a Deputy Member to support the Board if one of the members is unavailable.

EPA Director, Mr Wes Ford remains on the Board in his statutory position.

The EPA Board is established under the Environmental Management and Pollution Control Act 1994 (EMPCA) and the appointments were made by Her Excellency the Governor under section 13A and Schedule 3 of the Act for a maximum term of three years.

The provisions under EMPCA require that the Board consists of a person with practical knowledge of, and experience in, environmental management in industry, commerce or economic development. Ms Belinda Hazell was appointed in this role in recognition of her extensive involvement with large and small businesses, and her commitment to building industry capability in the State.

The Act requires that a Deputy Member must possess environmental management experience. Ms Amanda Locatelli who was appointed to this position, has extensive environmental management expertise with 13 years in the natural resource management sector and a technical background in water quality management.

The other positions on the Board include the Chairperson, who must have expertise or experience in public administration and environmental or natural resource management; a Member with practical knowledge of, and expertise in, environmental management in local government; and another with practical knowledge of, and experience in, environmental management and expertise. This expertise must be in one or more of environmental conservation; natural resources management; air, noise or water pollution; management and prevention of waste; environmental health; or social and economic analysis.

The Board’s primary functions are to assess environmental impacts and determine appropriate operating conditions for the larger scale developments described in EMPCA. This is done in the context of the sustainable development objectives of the Resource Management and Planning System of Tasmania (RMPS), and in the context of the objectives of the Environmental Management and Pollution Control System (EMPCS) established by EMPCA.

Minister Archer also thanked the outgoing members for their valuable service to the Board: Catherine Murdoch, and Deputy Members Mr Harry Galea and Dr John McCambridge.