• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation

Woodbridge School wins three environment awards

The Woodbridge School has enjoyed runaway success in this year’s Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence.

The school won two major awards – the Minister’s Award and the Education for the Environment Award – while teacher Nel Smit, the architect of the school’s sustainability program Footsteps for the Future, received the Professor Harry Bloom Memorial Award for her outstanding and inspiring individual contribution.

The Minister for Tourism, Arts and the Environment, Paula Wriedt, said the program highlighted the school’s heightened awareness of environmental sustainability and a commitment to water conservation and foreshore rehabilitation in the local region.

She congratulated the Woodbridge School for their dedication and the energy that they have put into this wonderful program.

The number and diversity of the projects entered in this year’s awards show that sustainability is taken very seriously by many companies and organisations.

The Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence recognise contributions to better environmental management in Tasmania.

The awards, now in their eighth year, are an important way of recognising and celebrating these achievements.

The Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence are coordinated by the Department of Tourism, Arts and the Environment with the support of corporate sponsors.

The winners of this year’s awards are:
· Local Government Award: King Island Council
· Mining and Minerals Processing Award: Cement Australia
· Education for the Environment Award: Woodbridge School
· Prof Harry Bloom Memorial Award: Nel Smit
· Community Award: West Coast Weed and Fire Management Group
· Sustainable Business Award: Hydro Tasmania
· Minister’s Award: Woodbridge School

The category winners were nominated for the prestigious National Banksia Awards with Hydro Tasmania, the King Island Council and West Coast Weed and Fire Management Group announced as finalists.