• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation

Workshops for Environment Awards entrants

Expert advice is at hand for entrants in this year’s Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence to fine-tune their nominations.

Information sessions on preparation of award nominations will be held in Hobart on 4 March and Launceston on 5 March by the Banksia Environmental Foundation which is managing the entry and judging process for this year’s awards.

The workshops will highlight a variety of themes, including what judges look for and the ‘X’ factor in entries.

The sessions will also show how formulating an entry provides an opportunity to assess a project and its outcomes against external criteria.

The Minister for Environment, Parks, Heritage and the Arts, Michelle O'Byrne, has encouraged all intending entrants, including those who have nominated previously, to attend a workshop.

Ms O'Byrne said tailoring an entry to address the judging criteria is critical and taking on board some professional advice can turn a good nomination into an excellent entry.

2008 marks the 10th anniversary of the Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence.

The award categories are: Large Business Sustainability; Small Business Sustainability; Community; Education; Environmental Stewardship and Local Government.

Also in this year’s awards line-up is the Premier’s Award for Climate Action.

The awards recognise contributions to enhance, preserve and protect the Tasmanian environment and are open to industry, local government, schools, community groups, researchers, educators, consultants and individuals.

All initiatives or projects entered in the awards must be based in Tasmania and developed within the past two years.

The awards will be presented at the Tasmanian Awards for Environmental Excellence Dinner in Hobart on 30 May.

To enrol in the Banksia Environmental Foundation information sessions or to download award information packs and entry forms, go to www.environment.tas.gov.au/awards.

Entries for the awards close on 2 April, 2008.