• EPA Tasmania
  • Assesment
  • Regulation & Assessment
  • Sustainability
  • Policy & Legislation


New EPA Board Members Announced

03 December 2014

A new Chairperson and three new members have been appointed to the Board of the Environment Protection Authority (EPA).

Warren Jones has been appointed the new Chairperson of the EPA. Mr. Jones has served as a Deputy EPA Board Member since 2012 and over a long career with the Tasmanian Public Service held a number of senior roles in Environmental Management, including as the General Manager of the Environment/EPA Division and a Director of the EPA from 2008-2010.

He is joined on the Board by Deputy Chairperson Anthony Ferrier, and Board Members Catherine Murdoch and Professor Colin Buxton.

The new Deputy Chair Anthony Ferrier is the current Deputy General Manager of the Kingborough Council and has extensive local government experience.

Professor Colin Buxton is the former Director of the Fisheries, Aquaculture and Coasts Centre at the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) at the University of Tasmania.

Catherine Murdoch is Manager Environment at Tasmanian Irrigation and a former CEO of NRM North.

The term of the previous Board Members expired on 30 June 2014, and they have continued to serve on the Board until the new appointments take up their positions.

The work of the previous Board has been acknowledged particularly outgoing Chair John Ramsay and outgoing Deputy Chair Ian Abernethy for their terrific work in the roles over the past six years, and outgoing Board members Dr. Helen Locher and Louise Cherrie for their hard work and expertise during the past three years.

The EPA is governed by a Board with an independent chair. Both the Board and the EPA’s Director exercise power at arm’s length from the Government.

The EPA is an integral part of the State’s Resource Management and Planning System and the EPA has a number of statutory responsibilities, including the environmental assessment and regulation of larger developments and industrial activities in Tasmania.

The EPA Board’s work is supported by staff in the EPA Division of the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment.